The true meaning of being nostalgic

Just 2 days ago, my mid semester exam got over which was going on for a last 7 days, I had exam every alternate day, and for the last paper, there was not enough time to study, but on the contrary the last exam went very well and as compared to the previous 4 papers, I think I will get a good score. Yesterday I took some time out in the morning to clean up my closet, which required rather demanded cleaning for an entire year, which I was postponing for every small excuse.

While cleaning I found some old Duelmaster cards, some Pokemon tazos and my own tooth which I had preserved for a long long time. It might seem a bit odd keeping your tooth in a zip lock for the last 4-5 years or so, but preserved tooth signified something very powerful, it signified that I had successfully moved on from the difficult times I had in my past. At that moment I finally got what it meant to be nostalgic, a feeling of longing for a memory good or bad, which might not happen in your life again. completelyuelmaster cards and Pokemon tazos, signifed something really positive, it was a time which I had a lot of friends,we played together, traded those cards, we even tried to figure out how exactly do we play with those cards yet unsuccessfully, though all this reminded me one thing, I had changed a lot, and the old times in our life are undeniably different than the present times.

image

Duelmaster cards, Pokemon tazos and a statue of liberty eraser(souvenir of my 2008 USA trip)

The preserved tooth reminded me of my struggle to speak when I had braces, it was the most difficult phase of my life, most of the time I became a laughing stock in front of all my friends, it felt really bad, but the preserved tooth has told me another great story. It told me that it is possible to move on from your past and live in the present. I remember quite well that when I preserved that tooth I told my parent that, when I will look back at this tooth in the near future things will be different, it will signify something really pristine and special when I see it in the near future. Incidently that’s what has happened I changed braces got off and I could properly express myself, people stop making fun of me, rather people start respecting me as a man with a plan in his mind. This incident told me one thing that we change as time passes by, and we should always remember that the change is for the best.

Today I completely understand what it means to be nostalgic, to be happy that bad things happened to me, I had the courage and confidence to overcome all difficulties, and emerge as a man with enough confidence to express myself properly and hope to complete my objective in my mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

